Home Internet How to lock profile on Facebook to avoid misuse of data in 3 steps? Facebook Introduces Lock Profile option for India!

How to lock profile on Facebook to avoid misuse of data in 3 steps? Facebook Introduces Lock Profile option for India!

by Deepthi Sharma
42 views
Profile Lock on Facebook

Facebook has announced a new safety feature in India. In this article, you will learn how to LOCK PROFILE on Facebook to enhance privacy of your data.

Now this feature will allow users to lock their profiles. Completely so that only their friends can see the posts, photos, and videos.

Previously Facebook has rolled out public availability of their video calling software which is integrated into Facebook messenger. Called as Messenger Rooms, it allows you to host video calling up-to 50 people with invite feature.

Features of Profile Lock

The company has revealed that the feature is designed for people in India, especially women, who want more privacy to use Facebook. Users can simply lock their profile and it will multiply existing privacy settings along with new features to one’s profile.

The company has revealed that if a user locks their profile, non-friends cannot zoom into, share or download full-size profile pictures and cover photos.

How to activate LOCK PROFILE on Facebook?

The following are the steps to Lock Profile in Facebook Mobile App:

  • Login with your Facebook Account
  • Go to Profile Page (by clicking menu option on top-right corner of Application)
  • Tap Under the Profile Name link (See your profile)
  • Tap on three dots to bring options.
  • The “Lock Profile” option is available
  • Click on the Lock Your Profile button.

You will be notified your profile is locked and a notification will also appear below your profile information. Below image gallery will guide you to all steps required. Please take a note at highlighted points.

  • Click on Menu & Choose See your profile link
  • Click on 3 dots to open Facebook App Profile Settings
  • Click on Lock Profile
  • Click on Lock Your Profile button at the bottom of page
  • Facebook Profile Lock Confirmation
  • Facebook Profile Locked Notification

What will happen once I lock profile on Facebook?

Following thins will be limited and options will be changed when you lock profile on Facebook.

  • Your profile will be marked as Locked and it will be visible to all users.
  • Only some of basic details will be displayed for users who are not your friends.
  • Timeline review and tag review will be turned on.
  • Any posts you’ve shared in the past to Public will change to Friends.
  • Following items will only be visible to your friends.
    • Photos and posts on your timeline.
    • Your full-size profile picture or cover photo.
    • Your Stories.
    • New posts and photos.

How to de-activate LOCK PROFILE (Unlock Profile) on Facebook?

The following are the steps to Unlock your profile in Facebook:

  • Login with your Facebook Account
  • Go to Profile Page (by clicking menu option on top-right corner of Application)
  • Tap Under the Profile Name link (See your profile)
  • Tap on three dots to bring options.
  • The “Unlock Profile” option is available
  • Click on the Unlock Your Profile button.

They cannot see photos and posts on your timeline including older and new posts. The company says that an indicator will be added to the profile page to remind users that the profile is locked.

This new safety feature will give women, especially young girls a chance to express themselves freely. Subscribe to our YouTube channel to watch video guide on how to lock profile on Facebook.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!